About Events Partners Press Resources Join Members Blog Donate

Home Page
Calendar of Events
Member Center

Call for Submissions: The Writers Lab 2018

Untitled Document

Submissions for The Writers Lab 2018 are now open!

. . . For women screenwriters over the age of 40.
. . . An intensive four-day script development retreat for narrative features.
. . . September 25 - 29, 2018, at Wiawaka, on Lake George, NY.
. . . Including one on ones with mentors; panel discussions; peer groups.
. . . Part of the movement to amplify the female voice in narrative film.
. . . Now accepting international script submissions.

Submissions Open: Tuesday, January 16, 2018 (12.01 am)
Deadline: EXTENDED to Monday, March 5, 2018 (11.59 pm EST)
Fee: $55.00    Member Fee: $35.00  -  NYWIFT, other WIF chapters, and WGA members
(Members of other Women in Film chapters must provide proof of membership via a letter
from their chapter’s staff or Board President.)

The Writers Lab seeks a broad selection of screenplays, across all genres of fiction, from all racial, ethnic, socioeconomic, and cultural groups.

  1. Scripts must be in English.
  2. Submissions must be full-length narrative screenplays. (No treatments, synopses, TV scripts, shorts, stage plays, or documentaries.)
  3. Applicants must identify as female and be born on or prior to February 28, 1978.
  4. Scripts by more than one writer will be considered, but all writers must be women over 40, and only one writer may attend The Lab.

The following materials are required and must be submitted electronically:

  1. A PDF of a feature-length narrative screenplay.
  2. Basic contact and biographical information
  3. Logline and Genre

Questions? Email contact@thewriterslab.nyc or go to our FAQs

The Writers Lab is funded by Meryl Streep for the fourth year, and produced by IRIS and New York Women In Film & Television in collaboration with the Writers Guild of America, East, with support from The Black List, Relativity Media, Stony Brook Southampton+Manhattan and Tribeca Film Institute.


Past Writers Lab mentors include Jessica Bendinger (Bring It On, Aquamarine), Susan Cartsonis (Carrie Pilby, The Duff), Rachel Cohen (Stranger Weather, House of Z), Lisa Cortes (Precious), Amy Fox (Equity), Pamela Gray (A Walk on the Moon, Music of the Heart), Caroline Kaplan (Time Out of Mind, Personal Velocity), Meg LeFauve (Inside Out, The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys), Darnell Martin (Cadillac Records, I Like It Like That), Gina Prince-Bythewood (Secret Life of Bees, Beyond the Lights), Mary Jane Skalski (Win Win, The Station Agent), Kirsten Smith (Legally Blonde, Ten Things I Hate About You), Guinevere Turner (American Psycho, The Notorious Bettie Page), Pat Verducci (Disney/Pixar), Ligiah Villalobos (Under the Same Moon, Firelight).

IRIS was founded by Kyle Ann Stokes, Nitza Wilon and Elizabeth Kaiden to champion the female voice in feature film. IRIS targets the development stage of filmmaking, challenging the gender imbalance in cinema, which shapes our collective cultural narrative.
New York Women in Film & Television (NYWIFT)
New York Women in Film and Television supports women calling the shots in film, television and digital media. NYWIFT energizes the careers of women in entertainment by illuminating their achievements, providing training and professional development, and advocating for equality. The preeminent entertainment industry association for women in New York, NYWIFT brings together nearly 2,000 women and men working both above and below the line. NYWIFT is part of a network of 40 women in film chapters worldwide, representing more than 10,000 members. NYWIFT is a nonprofit 501c3 public charity.

Join the conversation on Twitter: #nywift | @nywift

NYWIFT programs, screenings and events are supported, in part, by grants from New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, and New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, and New York State Council on the Arts