About Events Partners Press Resources Join Members Blog Donate

Home Page
Calendar of Events
Member Center

Sheila Nevins
Sheila Nevins
Power Player Breakfast: Sheila Nevins,
President, HBO Documentary Films

Join us this month for a Power Player Breakfast with Sheila Nevins, one of the most successful executives working in television today.

As President of HBO Documentary Films since 2004, Nevins oversees the development and production of all documentaries for HBO, HBO2 and Cinemax. She has executive produced or produced some of the most important nonfiction films of our time, garnering 24 Primetime Emmy Awards, 28 News and Documentary Emmys and 37 George Foster Peabody Awards. Among her Oscar-winning credits: The Blood of Yingzhou District, Born into Brothels and Chernobyl Heart.

A NYWIFT Muse, Nevins has been honored with many career achievement awards including the 2009 Governors Award from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences; a 2008 Gotham Awards Tribute; and a 2005 Emmy Lifetime Achievement Award for her contributions to the art of the documentary – the first time the National Television Academy awarded a Lifetime Achievement recognition to a documentarian.

Additional accolades include NYWIFT's Muse Award, the Women in Film Lucy Award, the National Board of Review Humanitarian Award and the Wellness Community of West Los Angeles Tribute to the Human Spirit Award for her contribution to the education and inspiration of cancer patients and their families. Nevins is a member of the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame, NATAS' Silver Circle, the Writers Guild of America, the Producers Guild of America and The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She is a longstanding member of NYWIFT.

Join the conversation on Twitter: 
#nywiftlive | @nywift

NYWIFT programs, screenings and events
are supported, in part, by grants from New York City Department of
Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, and New York
State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and
the New York State Legislature.